Mecca Beauty Loop: Winter 2017

This is my fourth Mecca Beauty Loop box I’ve received, and I felt the Mecca HQ team did a fantastic job at curating the winter boxes for Level 3 holders. I got to try some nice skincare products, as well as two generous makeup samples. Read on to hear my thoughts on each of the four products!

Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner (Intense Black)

I didn’t enjoy receiving this product, but as someone who can’t get liquid eyeliner to work, I’m very biased with that opinion! I did try this one out, and as much as I hoped for a miracle, it really didn’t work for me (or I didn’t work for it?)

However, if it wasn’t for my blinky eyelids and shaky and, I’m sure this would have been great. Despite being a total eyeliner novice, I found it did hold up to its ‘no tug’, super smooth application claims. Sadly, it’s just not a product for me!

Chantecaille Rice and Geranium Foaming Cleanser

This cleanser is pretty thick and foams up nicely, and also contains some kind of exfloiant. I didn’t leave my skin feeling overly soft though, so if you’ve got dry skin, this might not work for you either. I wasn’t blown away by the product, and considering how expensive Chantecaille is, I wouldn’t repurchase it. It is nice though when Mecca includes these luxury brand samples in Beauty Loops!

Glamglow Glowstarter Mega Illuminating Moisturiser (Nude Glow)

Speaking of luxury brand samples, I received the Glamglow Glowstarter Mega Illuminating Moisturiser. It can be used alone or as a primer before foundation. It reminds me a lot of the Becca First Light Priming Filter (only this has a nude tint to it, rather than a lilac tint) as it leaves the skin with a dewy finish and healthy glow. Unfortunately, Glamglow tests on animals, so I wouldn’t repurchase this in a full size (if you want a glowy, cruelty-free primer, try the Becca one!)

Smashbox Be Legendary Liquid Lip (Crimson Chrome)

This is the first shiny liquid lipstick I’ve tried! I love the shimmery-red shade – it’s very festive and bright, and it’s definitely something new for my collection. The closest match I have is the Anastasia Beverly Hills Lip Gloss in Runway Red, as well as a few matte liquid lipsticks.

Since the Smashbox is a combination of the two, it makes it hard to compare it’s formula to other products. The lipstick doesn’t dry down completely, so I wouldn’t call this a true ‘liquid lipstick’ formula. As it doesn’t dry down, there here is some transfer of product. I suggest wearing a lip liner for this reason.

I thought this edition of the Mecca Beauty Loop Level 3 box was well-thought out and contained a balance of skincare and makeup samples. While I wouldn’t repurchase full sizes of any of the products, it’s still nice to have little travel-size samples in my collection.

What did you think of this season’s box? Let me hear your thoughts in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

