Tarte Shape Tape Review

The most hyped makeup product this year would have to be Tarte’s Shape Tape Contour Concealer. Almost every beauty influencer swears by this product, and it’s very quickly become every girl’s must-have concealer. A free international shipping promotion allowed me the opportunity to get my hands on this $37 AUD concealer. So, is it worth the hype?

Like most of Tarte’s products, the concealer is nicely packaged. It comes in a chunky tube with a purple and gold Aztec-inspired patterned applicator lid. It contains 10mL of product, which is a little more than other standard sized concealers. It has a large doe-foot applicator wand, which makes it quick and easy to dab on to large areas. I find this good for the under eye area, but not as good for small spot concealing.

I found their shade range to be fantastic for ladies with lighter skin, however the range could use a few more options on the darker end of the shade spectrum. I erred on the side of caution, and selected Fair Beige, which is the third lightest from the Shape Tape range, and to be honest, it’s almost too light for me! I find the shade is great for brightening and concealing problem area, but I’d probably select the shade Light next time. If you are very fair, you won’t have an issue with the concealer being too dark.

Top: Tarte Shape Tape | Bottom: Nars Sheer Glow

The formula is full coverage, and I only need a few light dots under each eye to conceal my dark circles. You certainly don’t need to swipe the product all under the eye area like you see a lot of YouTubers do, as it has a very thick consistency, and can become cakey if you use too much. If you have dry skin, I suggest going in with a hydrating primer or good moisturiser first before using this product, and use a setting powder afterwards to prevent creasing.

So my final thoughts? This product is worth the hype from a coverage point of view, however you do need to use it sparingly, especially if you have dry skin like me. I would repurchase it, but only with another free shipping promo, as it isn’t worth $37 AUD plus a crazy amount of shipping (around $20!)

Have you tried the Tarte Shape Tape concealer? Have I been too harsh on everyone else’s favourite concealer? Let me hear your thoughts on the comments below!

One thought on “Tarte Shape Tape Review

  1. I also agree with the colors running really light! I first bought Light Sand, but it was much too pale for pairing with a bb cream. I had to exchange it for Light/Medium Honey (and most of the time my foundation shades are called porcelain!). I do love the coverage and wear!

    Like

Leave a Reply

