Real beauty is cruelty-free

I’ve been holding off posting this blog for sometime now, trying to get the words just right, as this is a subject that is close to my heart. When the news broke this week that NARS lost its cruelty-free status after its decision to sell in China, I decided I needed to share this post. (*WARNING: graphic image towards the end of post*)

20170524_212020

Six months ago, I made the decision to start transitioning to cruelty-free makeup and skincare. I was inspired by beauty influencers who had moved to cruelty-free cosmetics. But more importantly, I was determined to follow through with the change after learning more about what happens in the world of animal testing.

Bye Maybelline, Rimmel, Covergirl, Lancome and more. I won’t miss you!

What is cruelty-free?

Cruelty-free basically means no animal was used as a test subject during the creation of a product. For a brand or company to be considered cruelty-free, their product cannot be tested on animals, either by them or a third party. Some brands will say they don’t test on animals unless required by law, which is a good indication they sell to countries that have animal testing laws (e.g. China), and therefore these aren’t cruelty-free. NARS is the latest example of this.

Why does it matter?

As a proud owner of dogs and rats, the thought of them suffering for my vanity isn’t worth it. No beauty product is worth the pain of another living creature, so I choose not to buy from brands that test or sell their products to countries that do test.

20161229111502.jpg

#doitforthefurbabies

But it’s just makeup

Yes! Exactly! For me, makeup is a luxury, not a necessity, so I don’t believe an animal should have to suffer on my behalf. At the end of the day, makeup is something fun and pretty that goes on my face and is washed off at the end of the day.

20170211134559-1.jpg

Some of my favourite cruelty-free brands!

What about our safety?

I don’t buy into the argument that we need animals for cosmetic testing. With over 7,000 safe ingredients to choose from; alternative testing methods thanks to technology; and the fact humans and animals are genetically different, it’s pretty obvious the practice is outdated and inhumane.

Where to from here?

I use the word transitioning, as I’m still learning which brands test on animals, and I’m using up non-cruelty-free products purchased prior to my decision (I’m not going to waste usable products). The point is, I’m making a conscious effort to give my dollar to companies who have a vested interest in ethical business practices, not just their profits. In the future, I also hope to do this with other purchases too.

Want more information?

Cruelty-free Kitty andΒ Logical Harmony are two fantastic cruelty-free websites that provide advice on cruelty-free brands, as well as more information on the world of animal testing. And if you’re feeling brave, try an image search under ‘animal testing cosmetics’.

580_2d00_wwail_2d00_9

Image via PETA

This post is dedicated to my fur babies and all their animal friends. You don’t have a voice, but I hope my actions and those of other humans speak volumes to the companies who would harm creatures just like you for the sake of profit.

20170401172606

It’s time to be heard

3 thoughts on “Real beauty is cruelty-free

  1. Really loved this post! It was very informative and is for such an important cause. Transitioning is absolutely a viable stage of the cruelty free lifestyle and is something that people need to be aware of. No one is expected to be perfect – we are so happy you are bringing light to this really not talked about stage! We feel as if there is so much pressure on people to be perfect online, and it makes it hard for people to be motivated. Has inspired us to talk about this as well in upcoming blog posts. Love your vision!
    C.H. 🐣

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

