Becca First Light Priming Filter Review

I picked this up during the Sephora opening last month, after having it and the Prismatic Amethyst highlight on my “must-have wish list”. It’s quickly become my favourite primer to use…here’s why!

Like all Becca’s product, this one comes in luxurious packaging, which no doubt contributes to the high price tag ($65 AUD for a primer!) It has the Becca flying saucer-looking logo on the cap, and has a frosted glass casing. The product has a nice weight to it, as well as a slide-click cap.

This primer has a pump, making it easy to distribute the correct amount of product each time. I generally use 2-3 pumps per applications, as I find this soaks in my dry skin pretty quickly. The formulation is more liquid-y than other primers I’ve tried, and feels a little tacky when first rubbed in. I notice my skin looks much brighter and the primer adds a healthy flow to the skin. Once foundation is applied over the top, a tiny bit of the flow shows through, but it’s nothing too dewy.

becca-first-light-primer

The primer has a light fresh lemon scent to it, and while this fades once it’s belnded into the skin, those sensitive to make smells might want to sample this first before purchasing it!

I recommend trying this foundation if you have normal to dry skin, or if you love a glowy finish to your base makeup.

50mL of primer is a lot when you compare it to other primers or even foundations. For example, I paid $70 AUD for 30mL of NARS Sheer Glow, so I can *sort of* understand the high price tag.

What’s the most expensive primer you’ve purchased or tried before? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

