Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette

Worth the hype, the wait, and the $75 AUD price tag? The Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette landing in Sephora Australia back in August, quickly snatched up in the hype. Fast forward a few months later, the palette was finally back in stock and the hype’s subsided (but definitely not forgotten). I really ummed and ahhed over this pruchase when I saw it – $75 is a lot of money for an eyeshadow palette. But, the fear of it being sold out got the better of me, and after two days, I caved. Spoiler alert: I’m so glad I did!

If you’re looking for a negative review on this palette, you won’t find it here, or probably anywhere really…even Stephanie Nicole (who’s known for her blunt, honest reviews) gives this item her tick of approval. Let’s get onto the reasons for that!

The packaging is fairly simple, but I love the modern elegance of it. It’s encased in a suede material, and while that makes it pretty to look at and touch, it also means the outer packaging can get dirty quickly.

Inside it contains 14 shades. Below them you’ll find a decent brush, although it feels a little scratchy…so I’d probably only use it if I lost all my eye brushes to be honest!

Modern Renaissance is a warm-toned palette made up of neutrals, rustic reds, berry and burnt orange shades.

Tempera is a warm cream shade with a satin finish. I would use it as a base shade or as a brow bone highlight.

Golden Ochre is a pale yellow-brown (colour of baby food), again with a satin finish. Not my usual transition shade, but a good one to have.

Vermeer is a favourite of mine! This is a shimmery pink champagne shade and looks gorgeous all over the lid area, or on the tops of the cheeks as a highlight.

Buon Fresco almost leans a little cool-toned, but still fits in with the palette’s colour scheme. Another great transition shade – it’s a light lilac-taupe.

Antique bronze is the perfect description of this colour! It has a satin finish with slightly more shimmer than other satin shadows.

Love Letter is a deep fushia-plum shade and is great to work into the crease. I don’t own any shades quite like it, so I’m keen to have a play with this one.

Cyprus Umber is a satin-matte dark brown shade. I can see this number on the lower lash line to add definition.

Raw Sienna is a light warm-toned brown with a matte finish. Again, we’ve got a nice transition shade to work with.

Burnt orange is another name that perfectly describes the corresponding shade. From far away it almost looks brown, and is similar to Raw Sienna when swatched.

Primavera reminds me of Becca’s Prosecco Pop (Jaclyn Hill collab), but with more white-gold in it. Like Vermeer, it’s stunning all over the lid (or on the tops of cheeks!)

Red Ochre is a rusty-red shade with a satin finish. I love using this in my crease and along the lower lash line.

Venetian Red is a rich cranberry colour with a shimmer-satin finish. Ehen I’m feeling bold, I might try using this on the lid area.

Warm taupe, like it’s name suggests, is in fact a warm taupe shade! This shadow has a true matte finish, and is a favourite transition shade of mine (most taupe colours are).

Realgar reminds me of the Australian outback – it’s that perfect shade of our famous red soil. I haven’t seen this shade in most palettes, but I think it suits the warm theme perfectly.

The pigmentation of the eyeshadow is intense too – the best I’ve come across in a palette! And that’s consistent across them all. They’re super smooth and buttery, and blend out with ease. Fall out is the only downside to this, so be sure to prime those eyelids well.

abh-mr-swatches

Have you tried this palette yet? Let me know your thoughts if you have, or if you’re planning on purchasing this one 🙂

14 thoughts on “Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette

Leave a Reply

