2016’s Best of Beauty (High End)

While there were many interesting things that happened in 2016, one thing remained pretty consistent, makeup brands delivered some game-changing products to the beauty community. Here are my favourite high end highlights from last year!

Primer: Smashbox Photo Ready Primer

You don’t need much of this to create a great base for your face makeup, and it’s super comfortable and heavy-duty on the skin. You can see my review on it here.

Foundation: NARS Sheer Glow (Monte Blanc)

This is my favourite foundation, particularly for evening wear when I want luminous-looking skin. I could go on all day about how beautiful this looks even when I’m having a dry skin day, but I’ve already said it all in this full review.

Powder: Hourglass Ambient Lighting Surreal Light (LE)

I love lightly dusting this all over my face to add a healthy all-over glow. I wouldn’t use this to set my face, and less is more when it comes to this powder. It’s the perfect finishing touch! I’ve reviewed this in detail here.

Brows: n/a – can you recommend a good one for me?

I’m thinking of trying the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz, but I’m not sure if it’s the one for me. I’m looking for something fool-proof and not too heavy!

Eye primer: Too Faced Shadow Insurance

I love using this primer for intense eye looks, particularly when glittery shadows are involved. It has the perfect consistency and blends beautifully.

Eyeshadow single: n/a – can you recommend a good one for me?

I’d like to try Makeup Geek eyeshadows when I have a chance, particularly their foil and duo-chromes. Can you think of any other good single eyeshadow brands that I should try?

Eyeshadow palette: Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons

I could tell you I didn’t buy this partly for the packaging, but then I’d be lying. This is hands-down my favourite eyeshadow palette, as it has the perfect mix of pinks, neutrals and a few pops of colour. You can see swatches of the palette here.

Mascara: Stila HUGE Extreme

If you’re looking for thick, dramatic lashes, look no further than Stila’s HUGE Extreme mascara. I only need one coat of this to get the full effect of plump lashes. The only downside is that I do get a tiny bit of smudging above my eye around the 6 hour mark.

Bronzer: Too Faced Milk Chocolate Soleil

It’s a matte bronzer that’s actually light enough for my pale skin…do I need to say more? You can just make out faint pan ring lines, which tells you just how much I love this item!

Blush: Becca Flowerchild

This photo honestly doesn’t do this blush the justice it deserves. It’s the perfect everyday blush and the first one I reach for when I don’t have time to think. Check out swatches of this blush in my Becca x Jaclyn Hill split pans review.

Highlight: Becca Rose Quartz (LE)

Lots of checking, refreshing and fast checkout fingers is how I ended up with this highlighter! It’s such a gorgeous light neutral-pink highlight, and is definitely a collector’s item in my opinion. I’ve written a full review with swatches here.

Lipstick: Kat Von D Lovesick

This was my second liquid lipstick purchase from Kat Von D. It’s just a pretty pinky-mauve tone that last almost all day. This is my favourite liquid lipstick formulation, and I hope to purchase more this year! You can see my review on this one and Lolita here.

Setting spray: Urban Decay All Nighter

This is the product that brings looks together and keeps them in place. While I trust my primers to do some of the work, I believe the heavy lifting (or staying-power) comes from the setting spray. I’ll definitely be repurchasing a full-size of this soon!

What were your favourite high end products from 2016? Please let me know in the comments below! 

8 thoughts on “2016’s Best of Beauty (High End)

  1. The UD setting spray is definitely worth the hype! I’m also so in love with the chocolate Bon Bons palette! It has the cutest packaging! In fact my very first blog post talked about products with adorable packaging lol and of course the shadows alone are bomb!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

