2016’s Best of Beauty (Drugstore)

We’ve made it into 2017, but I thought it was time to look back at my top drugstore beauty picks of 2016. Don’t forget to let me know what your 2016 favourites were too!

Foundation: Maybelline Super Stay 24 Hr (03 Ivory)

This foundation quickly replaced my all time favourite, Maybelline’s FitMe (shade 110), and I haven’t looked back! I find this one doesn’t emphasize my dry spots, stays put against water and sweat, and offers medium, buildable coverage.

Powder: Rimmer Lasting Finish 25 Hr (001 Light Porcelain)

I use this to set my entire face, and find it’s great for matifying areas that get a little shiny. It’s another item that pipped Maybelline’s FitMe (powder) for the top spot. Bonus points for being the perfect match for my skin tone!

Brows: Australis brow pencil (light brown)

I haven’t tried many brow products, but I use this whenever applying makeup, so it’s earnt a spot in my top beauty picks. It’s easy to apply and also comes with a handy little brush, which I use to shape my brows, and remove access colour when I get a little heavy-handed.

Eye primer: Elf eye primer

This has a nice light-weight formula and has a little bit of pigment to it, so it helps hide any redness around my eye area. I believe it was about $4, so if you’re looking for a cheap eye primer, give this one a try.

Eyeshadow single: ColourPop Bubbly

I was introduced to the wonderful world of ColourPop in 2016, and this eyeshadow has been a stand out favourite! It’s a soft shimmery pink shade that looks absolutely gorgeous all over the lid. You can see my full review on it here.

Eyeshadow palette: Maybelline Blushed Nudes

I know a lot of people don’t like the Maybelline Nudes palettes, but I found this one was great for those quick makeup days when I don’t have time to sit there blending away at shadows.

Mascara: Maybelline Lash Sensational

This mascara is gives my lashes so much length and natural-looking volume without clumping. It’s brush is one of the best I’ve seen for the lower lash line too.

Bronzer: Physicians Formula Mood Booster Light Bronzer

This is a stunning shimmery bronzer that gives plenty of glow to the face and has the perfect amount of pigment for us fair ladies. You can see my first impressions post here.

Blush: Physicians Formula Happy Booster Natural Blush

This is a beautiful soft pink shade with a little bit of shimmer, and I love this for my ‘I’m-running-late-but-want-to-wear-makeup days. You can see my first impressions post here.

Highlight: theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer

YouTube made my buy it, and boy I’m glad I did! This is a white champange highlight that provides a ton of glow. You don’t need much of this for it to go a long way, so use sparingly (or not)!

Lipstick: Maybelline #20 Pink and Proper

I wore this lipstick on my wedding day, and for that reason alone it will probably be my forever favourite. It’s a beautiful cool-toned medium raspberry pink, and I think it would look just as nice on deeper skin tones as it does on fair ones.

Setting spray: Lacura Beauty Set Me Up

Lacura is Aldi brand makeup, and it ended up surprising me. I enjoy using this spray because it comes out as a fine, refreshing mist and helps set makeup powders in place.

These were my favourites in 2016. What were yours?

Leave a Reply

