Urban Decay Moondust palette

This has got to be one of the prettiest holiday (Christmas / New Year) palettes launched this year, and I can’t believe I own it! This was a generous Christmas gift given to me by my best friend. Emily, if you’re ready this, I’m so grateful – so thank you again!

Let’s talk outer packaging first. The holographic galaxy with the Urban Decay Moondust logo is giving me serious SimplyNailogical vibes! The box is by far the best design I’ve seen from any makeup brand (sorry Too Faced!)

The palette has a black-silver glittery texturized surface that adds to the outer space theme. Urban Decay is printed in black lettering, and the word ‘Moondust’ is sunken in with mirrored detailing below. I can’t get over the design – it’s amazing!

It has an invisible magnetic snap closure, making it perfect for travel. Inside it comes with a high quality mirror – one of the best I’ve seen in a palette – and eight super sparkly shades.

Specter is aΒ light pink shade with peachy-pink reflects, giving it a really unique duo-chrome effect. If you don’t mind a bit of glitter in your highlight, this could also work as a cheekbone highlight.

1-ud-moodust

Element is a orange-copper shade with peachy Β reflects. It has a bright to deep orange-peach colour shift.

2-ud-moondust

Magnetic is a medium purple shade with different blue and purple glitter reflects. The complimentary colours in this make it a really stunning multi-chrome eyeshadow!

3-ud-moondust

Lightyear is what really drew me to this palette. It’s a vibrant light forest green with green and turquoise glitters throughout. I’m definitely using this shade for Christmas!

4-ud-moondust

Granite is a dark slate grey with silver glitters. This shade would work wonderfully all over the lid with smokey-eye look.

7-ud-moondust

Lithium is a gold-pewter duo-chrome, and looks almost like a medium brown when light isn’t touching it.

6-ud-moondust

Vega is a royal blue shade with light and medium blue glitter reflects. I can see this working with Lightyear for a really colourful eye look!

5-ud-moondust

Galaxy is multi-chrome shade with a deep grey-black base and teal reflects, although in some lights, it looks holographic.

8-ud-moondust

The glittery soft shadows do give me some fall out, so I suggest doingΒ eye makeup first when using this palette. Urban Decay recommends using your finger and applying this wet – both of which should help minimise fall out.

The formulation reminds me a little of Colourpop’s Super Shock Shadows, but I can safely say this palette is the most unique one I own to date.

All up I love this palette’s colour selection and I can see these shades being featured in lots of full-on glam looks, especially all over the lids!

Have you tried any of Urban Decay’s Moondust shadows? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Urban Decay Moondust palette

  1. I got this palette when it first came out and it is AMAZING! Lithium is probably my most used color. I work in an office and the color is neutral while giving me a little special sparkle. But I also really love Vega…I have a blue eyeshadow obsession

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

