Too Faced Grande Hotel Café

I was counting down the days for the Too Faced Christmas in New York collection to land in store. I was pretty anxious to get my hands on it ASAP, as I’d heard the Too Faced holiday collections sell out fast. I was able to race to the shops during my work break and make the purchase, and couldn’t wait until I got home to see for myself what everything looked like.

Too Faced always wins the packaging game, and I love what they’ve done this year. You get a sturdy cardboard box, with a top that slides on and off, and that has “doors” that open and shut magnetically. You open it up to reveal three palettes stacked neatly, and one deluxe-sized Better Than Sex mascara. The inside design features a cute coffee shop interior that ties in with the winter treat theme going on. Bravo Too Faced!

The beauty of these box sets is that you can keep them all for yourself or split them up and give them as gifts. I’ve decided to keep two palettes – Eggnog Latte and Gingerbread Cookie. I’m giving the third, Peppermint Mocha, to my best friend, although it was a little hard to break up the set!

1-too-faced-all-palettes-close

Each palette is supposed to be scented with it’s corresponding name, which is a cute little bonus feature. I love how they’ve done with with their chocolate bar and peach palettes.

Peppermint Mocha

This palette is made up of pinks and browns, and is cool-toned. It’s got a good range of shades with neutrals and a pop of colour, so I think it’s suitable for all levels of skill. The blush looks stunning too! At first glance I thought it would be my favourite (hello, pinks), but soon realised it reminded me of my Chocolate Bon Bons palette, and wasn’t essential to my collection.

The palette smelt faintly of mint, but nothing overpowering. Since this is a gift, I didn’t swatch it, but from looking at the palette, here are my thoughts on each product.

20161108163905-1.jpg

Peppermint Cream is a true matte white, and would make for a great setting powder over an eye primer for those with very fair skin, or as a brow bone highlight.

Christmas Blend is a pale pink-champagne shimmer shade, and would look beautiful foiled over the lid. I think you’d have to build this one up with a setting spray.

Peppermint Mocha is a mid-brown that looks like it would work as a crease shade or to define the lower lash line.

Candy Cane is a pale matte pink, and judging by online swatches, would need to be built up. It could possibly be a nice inner-corner matte highlight.

Sprinkles is a deep berry-magenta shade with fine glitter throughout, and would look amazing blended in the crease.

Coffee Chip is a glittery deep-drown. I think it’s a great shade for a smoke eye.

Santa Baby is a cool-toned bright mid-pink blush. If you’ve got fair skin, I’d use a light hand and tapered brush to apply this.

Eggnog Latte

This palette is my favourite of the lot, all thanks to that stunning green! I haven’t smelt an eggnog latte, so I can’t say for sure the smell matches, but I can definitely detect latte notes.

Frosty Nog is an off-white (almost white, but different from Peppermint Cream) matte shadow. I’d use it the same way I would Peppermint Cream.

Eggnog Latte is a pale glittery yellow-gold. This one would show up on the lid best when foiled.

Iced Coffee is a shimmery light brown. A really lovely transition shade, or if you built it up, a fantastic neutral crease shade.

Skinny Latte is a cool-toned pale matte brown, and is a perfect transition colour.

Cold Brew is a shimmery taupe and is so pigmented, it looks wet when swatched, similar to Colourpop’s eyeshadow formula. This was a surprise, and is my second favourite shade in the palette.

Central Perk is a shimmery emerald green and builds up nicely. I would use a wet brush to get the most out of the colour.

Peach Cobbler is a soft coral blush that isn’t overly pigmented. Medium to deep skintones will need to build this up.

Gingerbread Cookie

This palette has the most deep shades of the group, and I can see some serious smokey looks happening with this. It had a vanilla/cookie scent to it, but I couldn’t really detect Gingerbread. Good effort though Too Faced!

Ginger Cream is a warm-toned white, and like the other palettes’ whites, would make for a good base over the top of a primer.

Maple Syrup is a mid-dark matte brown, and is the transition shade in the palette.

Gingersnap is a beautiful true gold foiled eye shadow, best applied with a finger or wet brush. It’s finish is similar to Cold Brew or the next one.

Winter Dream is a foiled lavender shade, however isn’t as pigmented as it looks in the pan. I would suggest using a wet brush for good colour payoff.

Cup of Joe is a really dark brown with sparse glitter mixed through. This one was a little chalky when swatched.

Black Coffee is a black shade that isn’t very pigmented (swatches dark grey). I would try use this along the top and bottom lashes for definition.

Gingerbread is a light cool-toned bronzer that wasn’t very pigmented (my Milk Chocolate Soleil swatches darker). Anyone with a medium or darker skin tone might have difficulty getting this bronzer to show up.

All up, I’m really impressed with the set, and can’t wait to play around with different looks. The palettes are travel-friendly, and I can see myself reaching for these a lot. I hope my best friend can say the same with Peppermint Mocha!

Which is your favourite palette from the set and why? Let me know in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Too Faced Grande Hotel Café

Leave a Reply

