Smashbox Primer Authority Try It Kit: Brand First Impression

I’m currently obsessed with the travel-sized makeup and skincare items Mecca Maxima has in store. It’s a great way for those (like myself) who are new to highend non-drugstore-brands. I picked up this little kit from Mecca the other week, which contains primers for different areas of the face. The Smashbox Primer Authority Try It Kit is my first purchase from the brand, and I’m really happy I got to try four products for $41 AUD!

Photo Finish Primer Water

This is a beautifully refreshing spray that can be used as a primer before makeup application, as a setting spray to lock in your look, or used to hydrate your skin throughout the day (where my dry skin girls at?). I think this is more suited for day-time makeup, as it provides a sheer, light base. For full-on glam, I’d go for the foundation primer.

24 Hour Eye Shadow Primer

This is a really heavy-duty eyeshadow primer, and it’s pretty thick, so a little goes a long way. I accidentally applied too much one time, and I found it made my makeup look cakey (my fault, not the product’s). If you’ve got oily eyelids, this is a great base to keep your look in place all day.

Photo Finish Foundation Primer

I’ve only used this a few times, but it’s already become my favourite face primer. It glides on super smoothly, and my skin feels velvety-soft once it’s rubbed in. It is such a good base for my skin, and if you were to buy one full-sized item from this box, I’d highly recommend this primer.

Photo Finish Hydrating Under Eye Primer

This product is the only part of the kit I could have gone without. I feel like I don’t really need something like this if I’m using the foundation primer, but it does have some light pigmentation to it, so it’s a good pre-concealer, but doesn’t completely cover dark circles.

All up I’m so happy I was able to pick up a kit with deluxe sample sizes of Smashbox primers. Although they look pretty small in person, you don’t need to use much product, so they should last ages.

My first impression of Smashbox has been very positive overall, but I want to hear what you’ve tried from the brand, and what you’ve loved the most from them. Please let me know in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Smashbox Primer Authority Try It Kit: Brand First Impression

  1. Did you love the Photo Finish Primer Water? Did you feel like it helped your makeup apply more smoothly or last longer? I’ve been wanting it, but I don’t LOVE the Photo Finish Foundation Primer, and I hate to spend the money on something that doesn’t wow me.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

