Sleek highlighting palette: Midas Touch

This is a palette Disney’s Elsa would be proud of. This palette is made up of cool-toned highlighters, but don’t be fooled, it will illuminate your skin.

It comes with a mirror that fills the entire lid of the palette, which is something I expect when I get a palette (I mean, what else would you use that space for?!) It also comes with a cheap-quality brush I won’t use, but that’s the only downside to this product. Let’s get on to the highlighters.

From top left to bottom right we have: Solitaire, Tanzanite, Rhinestone and Cubic Zirconia.

Solitaire is a smooth cream formula. It has a metallic finish with lots of tiny silver glitters scattered throughout. This one blends out so nicely and evenly…I had my doubts with it’s formula. I think this would also look great on the centre of the eyelids as part of a smokey look. If you don’t like glitter, you probably won’t like this…even with a makeup wipe there are glitter particles stuck to my skin. At least it’ll last all night.

Tanzanite is the first of the three baked powders in the palette. It’s a really pretty pale pink shade, although I think it’s too shimmery to use as a blush on it’s own (possibly a blush-topper)? It doesn’t feel as soft as other higlighters I’ve tried (when swatched), however it blends just as easily as any other good powder highlight. This one has finer glitter in it, and from closer inspection they look irridescent. I think this one is the most “natural” of the four.

Rhinestone is the second baked powder, and was the reason I was drawn to the palette (that and it was limited edition). It has fine, light-blue glitters through it, and is the most unique highlighter I’ve seen so far. This one has more of a pearl-shimmer finish, and has unique colour-shifting properties. I would use this as a highlight with cool-toned makeup looks, but I can also see this looking beautiful in the inner corners or over the centre of the eyelids.

Cubic Zirconia is the last of the baked powders, and would make for an intense highlight to make cheekbones pop. I also think this could be my new favourite inner corner product. This powder contains tiny white glitters that really catch the light and make this highlight shine. I recommend using this with the Rhinestone – I think they really complement each other for cool-toned looks.

What’s your favourite highlight in the palette? Do you prefer cream or powder formulas? Let me know in the comment section!

 

One thought on “Sleek highlighting palette: Midas Touch

Leave a Reply

