Maybelline Color Sensational Lipstick Swatches + Review

This week I added 7 new lipsticks to my collection (plus four lip pens, two lip balms, two blushes, and one bronzer), and decided I wanted to keep them all from the same brand. I turned to my most trusted brand, Maybelline, and selected a bunch of shades that should last me through each season. I already own two other shades from this range, so I’ll be including them in too.

image

These all fall under the Color Sensational umbrella, with 5 from the original line, 3 from the Rebel Bloom collection, and 1 from the Vivid range. Just like the Maybelline Color Drama lip pencils from this review, the formula is very creamy, and glides on beautifully. These look best when applied on the lips with a couple of thin coats (making them very buildable)! If you’re looking for something more natural, you could get away with just one small coat.

image

015 Born With It (original), 705 Blushing Bud (Rebel Bloom), 20 Pink & Proper (original), 720 Power Peony (Rebel Bloom), 740 Coral Burst (Rebel Bloom), 902 Fuchsia Flash (Vivid), 625 Are you Red-Dy (original), 280 Rum Riche (original), and 275 Crazy For Coffee (original).

img_20160516_203118.jpg

The first three shades are on the neutral to soft-mid pink side, with the first shade ‘Born With It’ being one of my everyday shades. I’m picturing the second shade ‘Blushing Bud’ going really well with Love My Pink from the Color Drama line. The third one, ‘Pink and Proper’, was actually the colour I wore on my wedding day, and so it’s obviously an all-time favourite of mine! It’s absolutely stunning…my photos do not do it any justice.

Maybelline_Lipsticks_First Row

The next three shades are my bright pops of colour, with each being from either the Rebel Bloom or Vivid line. Power Peony might look a little intimidating in the tube, but it’s actually pretty wearable! I think it’s partly to do with how opaque the colour is. I took a chance on the second shade ‘Coral Burst’, as I usually steer clear of anything remotely orange-y red, but this one looks great against my pale skin. If you want to step out of your comfort zone, but not too far, give it a go! Fuchsia Flash is a very ‘Barbie Girl’ colour, and again the photos just don’t do the bright pink justice.

Maybelline_Lipsticks_Second Row

The last three shades are my classic red, as well as a pink brown and nude brown. The red is bright and bold, and draws attention to my lips, so I’ll see how I feel about that when I wear it out…it’s definitely a nighttime lippie for me! The last two shades are quite similar, and I think I’m leaning towards liking the pink over the nude more, although I think both are perfect for winter. I might end up mixing them together!

Maybelline_Lipsticks_Third Row

That concludes my swatches and opinion piece. There are so many in the collection, but I think I’ll hold off for a while with all these new products I’ve purchased.

Let me know in the comments below what is your favourite makeup product to collect?

4 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Sensational Lipstick Swatches + Review

Leave a Reply

