Maybelline Color Drama Lip Pencils (Review & Swatches)

I haven’t use a giant lip pencil (crayon) in ages, so I decided to give the Maybelline Color Drama Lip Pencils a try. There’s 10 in total, but since I’d already bought a whole bunch of lipsticks, I decided to just pick my ultimate favourites. I bought these for $5 each on sale at Chemist Warehouse.

image

I bought two neutral pinks, a bright pink, and one red. I only just realisedΒ this is pretty much my game plan each time I go lipstick/gloss/balmΒ hunting. From top to bottom I bought 510 Red Essential, 150 Fuchsia Desire, 130 Love My Pink, and 140 Minimalist.

image

Minimalist is a pinky-nude, and is a very wearable ‘everyday’ shade. I can see myself incorporating this into an everyday makeup routine. It’s the no makeup-makeup colour for my lips!

image

Love My Pink is very subdued ‘Barbie Pink’, which rests comfortably in between neutral and bright…if that makes sense. I think this one is still more of a daytime shade, although with a bright lipgloss overtop, could make for a bright pop of colour for going out.

image

Out of all the colours in the range, this is definitely one of the brightest, and still one that most skin tones could pull off. It’s not a neon in-your-face shade, it’s more of a pretty ‘pop’ of pink.

image

Every girl needs a good red in her life, and I decided it would be good to have a red lip pen as a base for my red lipsticks. I really like this shade, as it’s a true deepΒ red. Pale ladies, this is a red for you (and me)!

image

The formula is soft and creamy, but once these are on, they tend to hold fairly well on the lips, although after a meal or drink, you may wish to touch up. I’ve bought a bunch of lipsticks from Maybelline’s Color Sensational range too, so I’m thinking these pens might also make for great lip liner bases.

image

PS, I believe you can get three in a set on sale for around $8…I wish I’d known this before purchasing them individually. The set contains Minimalist, Love My Pink and Light It Up (very similar to Red Essential). I guess it’s impossible to get every bargain…I’m still happy paying $5 per pen, rather than $10 RRP.

Do you own any of the Color Drama shades? Let me know in the comments below which colours are your favourites, and if you have a particular shop that always has a good deal on makeup!

Leave a Reply

