Easy Australia Day Nails

Hi everyone! So tomorrow it’s Australia Day, which is a day set aside to celebrate how blessed we are to call Down Under home. It’s the Aussie equivalent to America’s Fourth of July celebrations.

Tomorrow I’ll be spending the day with friends water skiing and soaking up the sun, so I decided to pay tribute to my country with a super easy nail design.

image

I have really weak nails so I started off with one coat Sally Hansen’s ‘Hard as Nails’ as my base coat. I let this dry for a couple of minutes before moving onto the coloured polish.

image

For blue I’m using a dark shimmery blue shade by OPI named ‘Unfor-greta-bly Blue’. I applied two coats of the blue colour to all my nails, except the ring fingers. I allowed the coats five minutes of drying time.

image

After this I took a bright red polish from a nail kit by Beauty Essentials, and applied just one coat on my ring finger nails.

image

Once all my nails were dry to touch, I put on a top coat of Sally Hansen’s ‘Complete Salon Manicure’ to protect the polish.

image

As I was writing this up I decided to try be clever, and used a dotting tool to create little shapes (stars…I tried!) on the blue polish. I’m still deciding whether I like them or not.

image

And that’s it! A little bit of Aussie pride on my nails ahead of tomorrow’s festivities.

Let me know in the comments below if you have a special day to celebrate your country, and what you do on that day! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

