Cruelty-free favourites #1 (Face & Eyes)

Before I start, I’d just like to add a little disclaimer. Not all the products I use are cruelty-free. When looking for a product, my two main thoughts are: can I afford it? (drug-store basically), and does it suit my complexion/skin tone etc. Anything else is really just a bonus. That being said, I would love to discover more cruelty-free brands that fit into the two categories above. For now, here are my favourite discoveries.

Australis Fresh and Flawless Foundation

This foundation comes in five shades, and I own the lightest one, ‘Nude’. It’s pretty rare for me to find a foundation that blends in well with my skin tone. I’ve been using this brand for a long time (I’ve also got the eyeshadow primer, foundation primer, highlighter and contour kit), but it’s only recently that I’ve found out Australis is also cruelty-free. I recommend this foundation for everyday-wear, it’s oil and fragrance-free, and doesn’t clog pores.
image

Nude by Nature Mineral Primer

A little bit of this primer goes a long way, and it’s the perfect base for my makeup. It’s got a natural herb-lemon scent to it, and it feels incredible on my skin. Bonus points for being owned and made in Australia too! I consider this one of the more expensive drug-store brands, but for the quality, it’s worth it.
image

ModelCo Shadow Stick (St Bartz)

I received this in my July Bellabox, and I really liked the creamy texture and the colour. It didn’t budge, and I found it was a great base colour that could be used on it’s own, or with other eyeshadows. However, the packaging is a little flimsy, so I’ve had to take extra care when applying the product (I suspect this might be because it’s sample size?) Definitely a great compact product to keep in the handbag.
image

NYX Natural Eyeshadow Palette

I love warm eyeshadows, particularly golds and browns, as they compliment my eyes nicely. This little palette contains six powder eyeshadows, which can be used to create a dramatic smokey eye, or a soft shimmery look. I’ve used these with my shadow stick, and there’s just so many looks you can create with the two products. NYX as a brand is also pretty wallet-friendly.
image

Do you have a favourite cruelty-free product you’d recommend? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

