Winter haircare

Confession: I haven’t had a hair cut in over a year.

My hair is naturally dry, and it’s been like that a very long time. Lots of swimming (and chlorine!) when I was younger, lots of straighteners and blonde streaks in my high school years, and generally not putting a lot of effort into looking after my tresses. Every hairdresser’s solution was the same: chop it all off.

products

Yep, a few inches cut off might be the quickest way to get rid of split ends, but for someone who wanted long hair, I had to find another way. I’ve been colour-free for over two years, and only go for the occasional curl or straighten when I’ve got a special event. But there’s other ways I’ve started to look after my hair’s health. It’s taken a while, but I’m slowly finding some hitsamong a lot of misses.

De Lorenzo The Ends

My friend recommended this product to me after using it for her chemically-straightened hair. As you can imagine a process like that can dry your hair out pretty bad, but after using this product my friend noticed softer hair – even more so than before the straightening. You can use the product on wet or dry hair – and it’s a leave in so you don’t have to worry about washing it out.dl

Marc Daniels Blue Cypress Blonde Serum

I received this product in a Bellabox a few months ago. The smell is amazing and it soaks into my hair so well! It’s a great leave-in treatment just after I’ve had a shower, and you don’t need to use much of the product – a little goes a long way. Definitely has come in handy for the cooler months, but I’ll use this product all year round.blue

Protane Coconut Water Spray

I use this product before leaving the house and find it’s great when you’re in a hurry. Just a few quick sprays and you’re set for the day. I’ve also used it after curling my hair, as I find it gives it a little extra moisture when it needs it most (plus I smell super tropical!)coconutOGX Argan Oil Shampoo and Conditioner

I’ve heard heaps about the benefits of natural oils, and argan oil seems to come up a lot when you talk about healthy hair. I’ve only just started using OGX and already I’m pleased with the results – softer, smoother hair that’s easier to manage! A lot of dry hair shampoos and conditioners I’ve tried either don’t help, or give me greasy looking hair (excess oils!), so it’s really nice to find a product that works. While it’s a little more expensive than what I usually pay, it’s definitely worth it for the results I’m getting.argan oilOlive Oil

This one is a little messier, and I only use it when I have time to sit around for half an hour. Another friend told me about this one, and it’s great if you’re looking for a dirt-cheap option. You’ll also need to wash it out, so the process is best tried when you have a day off. I take a couple of teaspoons of olive oil, and run it through the ends of my hair (note: you can do your entire head, but I find my roots get really greasy). Next I put my hair into a shower cap and leave it for about half an hour, allowing the oil to soak into the hair. Afterwards, I jump into the shower and wash the oil out (really make sure it’s all out – you don’t want to smell like a kitchen!)olive oil Do you have a product or natural recipe you use for dry hair? I’m always looking for new things to help improve my hair’s health. Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

