Bellabox Unboxing (May 2015)

This is the fourth box I’ve received from Bellabox, and I was super excited when it finally arrived. Not everything I will use, but for $15 a month it’s a great way for me to try new products. This month’s theme was SUGARFIX.


To quickly sum up what Bellabox is, it’s a service where you pay $15 per month (and $2.95 for shipping) to have five or more beauty samples delivered to your door. Some brands you know, while others are new on the market. Sometimes you get full-sized products, while other times you get sample sizes. The concept – trial new products (which usually come in a signature blue box with little polka dots) before buying in store/online.

IMG_4096

This month’s box had a mix of products I will be trying, while others I’m not really sure I’d use (I’m thinking they’ll make great little gifts to friends!) You do get to fill out a beauty profile to help Bellabox better match products to you, but they do also give out products you wouldn’t normally try – meaning you get a little surprise each month, with at least an item or two matched based on your beauty profile 🙂

Chella Ivory Lace Highlighter Pencil

All members were getting either the highlighter or contour from Chella, a cult brand product used by celebrities in the US. I received the Ivory Lace highlighter, which can be applied to brighten my eyes (when applied to eye waterline) or used to highlight my cheeks, brow bone and nose. It’s RRP is $24.94, so I already got more than the box cost from this one product. Unfortunately because I’m so pale (very fair skin) this highlight doesn’t really work as a highlighter, however I’ve found it acts as a nice little concealer stick! Even though I can’t use it for what it’s intended for, I am happy I can still use it.

IMG_4103

J Bronze Instant Tanning Cream Wash Off

The JBronze line of products is by Jennifer Hawkins, Australia’s very own Miss Universe (2004). The product boasts it gives users a “gorgeous, streak-free and natural looking tan” and “the smudge-proof formula will not budge until you wash it off”. This product came in it’s full size and retails at $24.95. It comes in a long tube with a little pump at the top to disperse the tanning cream, and the cream itself as a nice light coconut smell. I’ve never tried fake tan before, but since I’ve received this product I may give it a go. This particular product only comes in ‘medium’ though, so I’m not sure how it will go on my skin!

IMG_4098

Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Formula Moisture Rich Night Cream

This is the third Palmer’s product I’ve received from Bellabox, but each have been different so I’m definitely not complaining! The one I received in this box is an overnight repair treatment, which healps promote a softer, smoother and younger-looking complexion. I tried a small test patch on the back of my hand and I must admit, it makes my skin feel super soft and extra smooth! Definitely excited to try this out before bed. The full sized version’s (75g) retail price is $14.99, so my 15g is worth approximately $2.99. It’s a decent sample size, so if I do enjoy this product I’ll most likely be purchasing it again from Priceline.

IMG_4099

Real-U Control + Face Gel

This little face gel packs a powerful punch – “a unique and patented technology that controls breakouts and reduces pore-size”. It comes in a 10mL sample worth approximately $5.00 (when compared to it’s 100mL size worth $50.00) The formula is quite thin and spreads easily, so you don’t need to use much on your face.

IMG_4100

Impulse Romantic Spark

This sample size comes in the form of an adorable little spray that can fit into any handbag. I haven’t used Impulse in a few years, so it was great receiving this well-known brand. The scent “features notes of wild violets and warm, earthy tones” and reminds me a little bit of a hybrid Vera Wang perfume.

IMG_4102

Sunescape Hydrating Gradual Tan Extender

This is a bonus product, and possibly a hint from Bellabox that I should try fake tan. This product acts as a self-tanner, tan extender and moisturiser all in one, and contacts macadamia nut, avocado, argan and coconut oils, which all sound pretty good to me and my skin! It’s only a small sample, but it’s a great way to trial a type of product I’m still unsure about (probably a good test run before I use the J Bronze!)

IMG_4104

I was initially a little hesitant  when I received my box, as some of the products I wouldn’t have chosen myself. However, after looking through my handy little Bellabox card that explains the use of each product, as well as quickly sampling some of them (my hand smells like coconut haha!)

IMG_4097

Let me know what you’re favourite product was in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

